How to Speak German

07/11/2011 21:29

So, do you need to know how to speak German fast? When I moved to Germany I felt like I had a lot of improving to do even though I had studied it before arriving. I needed to get proficient as soon as possible. As it turns out, I found a system that actually worked for me. I decided to share it with you.Listen and Listen Some MoreFor me, I was able to walk around and listen to people speak. If you are interested to know more, take a look at How to Speak German. When someone ordered at the bakery I would listen, and then when my turn came, I would repeat what they said. If you don't have the luxury to walk around and listen to natives, you can get a lot accomplished online by streaming television, radio, and even watching German movies. Turn it on even if you aren't really paying attention. Trust me, it helps.A Good Language ProgramHaving a good language program on your side is also a vital part of learning German. It took me a while to find a program that I liked and could stick with you. The key is to just pick one and stick with it. Resist the urge to give up and move on to something else. In order to make real progress you really need to see things through to the end.Read Something Each DayIt is also a good idea to make it a point to read something each day. It's easy to do this with the internet. You can just browse until you find some news sites or read magazines in German, such as Shape magazine's German site. Just read it without worrying about looking anything up. Read for enjoyment. Eventually the language will come together.Carry Around a DictionaryWhen I first moved in, I really needed my dictionary. I carried it around and would look things up while sitting in the car or on the train. I would have my husband quiz me on vocabulary words, too. It's also nice to have around, just in case you need to look something up or prep yourself for a challenging situation. For example, I needed it a few months ago when I had to return something at the store.Learning how to speak German is something that is completely possible. It just takes some diligence and patience on your part. Being consistent and finding a good language program helps, as well. For more info, visit How to Speak German.